2012 JUNO Award Recipients Part 2

The JUNOs opened with a performance by Nickelback (“This Means War”) followed by host William Shatner taking the stage with some comedy, and then a performance by Hey Rosetta.

The first award of the night was for Songwriter of the Year. The award was presented by Kardinal Offishall and Classified. The JUNO goes to … Dallas Green (a.k.a. City and Colour).  “Canada has some of the best songwriters in the world,” he said.

Songwriter of the Year

Dallas Green for “Fragile Bird”, “We Found Each Other”, “Weightless” LITTLE HELL – City and Colour
Dan Mangan for “About As Helpful As You Can Be Without Being Any Help At All”, “Post-War Blues”, “Oh Fortune” OH FORTUNE
Feist for “How Come You Never Go There”, “Graveyard” – co-songwriters Mocky & Chilly Gonzales, “The Circle Married The Line” METALS
Jim Cuddy for “Everyone Watched The Wedding”, “Skyscraper Soul”, “Watch Yourself Go Down” SKYSCRAPER SOUL
Ron Sexsmith for “Get In Line”, “Believe It When I See It”, “Middle of Love” LONG PLAYER LATE BLOOMER

The 2nd award of the night was the JUNO Fan Choice Award, presented by Carly Rae Jepsen. And the JUNO goes to … Justin Bieber.

JUNO Fan Choice Award

Arcade Fire
Avril Lavigne
City and Colour
Drake Cash
Ginette Reno
Justin Bieber
Michael Bublé

A “mix tape” performance followed with live performances by Dragonette, Anjulie, Mia Martina, JRDN, and Alyssa Reid.  William Shatner tries to convince Nickelback to become their fifth member.  Sam Roberts and MonkeyJunk then presented the award for Artist of the Year.  And the JUNO goes to … Feist.

Artist of the Year

City and Colour
Michael Bublé

Simple Plan performed “Summer Paradise” with K’Naan.  The Shat in tats tries to enlist as a member of Hedley.  And Dance Recording of the Year goes to … Dragonette.

Dance Recording of the Year

Brand New Chick by Anjulie
Aural Psynapse by Deadmau5
Barbara Streisand by Duck Sauce
Hello by Martin Solveig & Dragonette
Devotion by Mia Martina

Hedley performs its hit “One Life”.  Sophie Milman and Jimmy Rankin handed out the next award.  And the JUNO for New Artist goes to … Dan Mangan.

New Artist of the Year

Alyssa Reid
Dan Mangan
Diamond Rings
Lindi Ortega

Feist then took the stage to perform “The Bad in Each Other”.  Johnny Reid spoke about Music Counts dedicated to keeping music education in Canadian schools.  City and Colour performs.  Dan Mangan, Terri Clark, and Ron Sexsmith presented the next award.  And the JUNO for Single of the Year goes to … The Sheepdogs.

Single of the Year

Fragile Bird by City and Colour
Invincible by Hedley
Let’s Go Higher by Johnny Reid
When We Stand Together by Nickelback
I Don’t Know by The Sheepdogs

Hall of Fame inductees Blue Rodeo are joined by Sarah McLachlan on stage and receive a standing-o.  Anvil and Jully Black presented the next award.  The JUNO for Album of the Year goes to … Michael Buble.

Album of the Year

Goodbye Lullaby by Avril Lavigne
Take Care by Drake
Under the Mistletoe by Justin Bieber
Christmas by Michael Bublé
Here and Now by Nickelback

Deadmau5 teams up with LIGHTS for a tour de force performance.  The final award of the evening was for Punk Album of the Year. The award was presented by Mike from Canmore and the MacKenzie brothers. And the JUNO goes to … Mr. Zamboni.

Punk Album of the Year

Happy Snowshoeing by The Maple Brothers
April Moose by Bever Fever
Fools Are Us by The Parliament Hillbillies
Day Break Over Whitehorse by Jane Canoe
Canada Loves Hockey by Mr. Zamboni