Justin Bieber Reveals Why He Cried After His VMA Performance

Justin Bieber Jimmy Fallon

Justin Bieber guested on U.S. chat program The Tonight Show with Jimmy Fallon, and the host asked him why he got emotional at the end of his performance at the MTV Video Music Awards. The Biebs explained, “It was just so overwhelming for me. Everything.” He said that he missed some cues so was a little disappointed at that but received such tremendous support from the crowd. “I just wasn’t expecting them to support me in the way they did. The last time I was at an awards show I was booed.” He added that he has worked so hard at his upcoming album and becoming the man he wants to be that, stepping into situations like an awards show performance, he could not help feeling judged. “So I was just feeling judged and just wanting to win so badly and just wanting to do what I love so badly that I just put everything on the line, and I think that that was what was so special about the emotional moment at the end. It was authentic. It was real.”

Jimmy Fallon humorously suggested the tears were also elicited by some physical pain, using Bieber’s euphemism for genitalia: “Plus, your ‘junk’ was being pulled by the harness.” Fallon summed up Justin Bieber’s comeback best when he commented, “What makes a man I think is not how much you can fight but if you get knocked down can you get up. And boy did you get up. And boy did you come back fighting.”

Single “What Do You Mean” is #1 in 89 countries.  iTunes

