Hedley’s Jacob Hoggard to Host the 2015 JUNO Awards

2015 JUNO Host Jacob Hoggard

It is an Abbotsford, British Columbia Canadian Idol alumnus and the frontman of multiplatinum group Hedley who will be hosting the main gala of the 2015 JUNO Awards. Jacob Hoggard can do “Anything” which includes pulling double duty as a host and performer at the world’s biggest night in music. Hedley has already won two JUNO Awards and is up for 3 more this year. Five years ago, the band performed at the Closing Ceremony of the Winter Olympic Games in Vancouver. Ten years ago, Jacob left his construction job to participate in Canadian Idol finishing third in the show’s second season. Immediately after, he formed the band Hedley signing a deal with Universal Music Canada. The band has released five studio albums and is one of the best-selling groups in the country. “Jacob brings boundless energy and amazing charm and charisma,” says CTV president Phil King. CARAS frontman Allan Reid comments, “It’s been wonderful to watch Jacob grow from an energetic hellion 10 years ago into a gifted songwriter and one of Canada’s top frontmen”.


2014 JUNO Awards Host Announced

juno-hosts copyIt all goes down in Winnipeg on March 30 – Canada’s biggest night in music. Most recent hosts of the party have been Michael Bublé, William Shatner, Drake, and Russell Peters. This year, there will be three co-hosts of the JUNO Awards: Serena Ryder, Classified, and Johnny Reid. It is the first time in a while that the hosts are not massive names internationally (which may be the point). The three represent diverse genres of music. Serena Ryder performs popular rock, Classified rap, and Johnny Reid is a soul singer who immigrated to Canada from the United Kingdom when he was 13. All three are JUNO-winning, multiplatinum artists.

Brett Kissel, Dean Brody, Gord Bamford, Matt Mays, Robin Thicke, The Sheepdogs, Tegan and Sara, and Walk Off The Earth will be performing, and presenters will include Sarah McLachlan and the Sochi 2014 Olympic Winter Games Gold Medalists in Women’s Curling. You can read more about the big night HERE.

Michael Buble to Host the 2013 JUNO Awards to the, Er, Surprise of Avril and Chad

This just in, Mr. Bubbles himself, Michael Bublé, will be hosting the 2013 JUNO Awards which will be broadcast from Regina on April 21.  Last year, it was William Shatner who did the hosting honours, participating in some comedic sketches where he attempted to convince bands to take him on as a member.  Buble, always full of good humour, won the Album of the Year award at the JUNOs last year for 8x Platinum Christmas.  The announcement was made via a funny television advert today featuring him with Avril Lavigne and Chad Kroeger.  Check it out below.  Nominations for the JUNO Awards will be unveiled on February 19.

Hosts of the JUNO Awards

I received a personal email asking me whom I would like to see host the JUNO Awards this year (2012). I’m not a member, so my opinion doesn’t hold much weight. But I did give it some thought. The JUNO Awards were first televised in 1975, the host being Paul Anka (fitting). Over the years, hosts have not only been music stars but actors, TV personalities, and comedians. Below is a table summarizing the hosts of the JUNOs since 1975, including the host city.

Year Location Host
1975 Toronto Paul Anka
1976 Toronto John Allan Cameron
1977 Toronto David Steinberg
1978 Toronto David Steinberg
1979 Toronto Burton Cummings
1980 Toronto Burton Cummings
1981 Toronto Andrea Martin
1982 Toronto Burton Cummings
1983 Toronto Burton Cummings and Alan Thicke
1984 Toronto Joe Flaherty and Andrea Martin
1985 Toronto Andrea Martin and Martin Short
1986 Toronto Howie Mandel
1987 Toronto Howie Mandel
1989 Toronto Andre-Philippe Gagnon
1990 Toronto Rick Moranis
1991 Vancouver Paul Shaffer
1992 Toronto Rick Moranis
1993 Toronto Celine Dion
1994 Toronto Roch Voisine
1995 Hamilton This Hour Has 22 Minutes Cast
1996 Hamilton Anne Murray
1997 Hamilton Jann Arden
1998 Vancouver Jason Priestley
1999 Hamilton Mike Bullard
2000 Toronto The Moffatts
2001 Hamilton Rick Mercer
2002 St. John’s Barenaked Ladies
2003 Ottawa Shania Twain
2004 Edmonton Alanis Morissette
2005 Winnipeg Brent Butt
2006 Halifax Pamela Anderson
2007 Saskatoon Nelly Furtado
2008 Calgary Russell Peters
2009 Vancouver Russell Peters
2010 St. John’s None
2011 Toronto Drake
2012 Ottawa TBA
2013 Regina TBA

As you can see, in the beginning, for feasibility, the show was held in Toronto. In 1991, for the first time, the gala was held elsewhere–in Vancouver. With bigger budgets, it is now being held in various cities. The JUNOs were broadcast on CBC up until 2002 when CTV took over. In general, they prefer big name stars to help draw viewing audiences. So, I’m guessing they’re considering Michael Buble, Justin Bieber, Rachel McAdams, Nickelback, Ellen Page, Ryan Reynolds, Ryan Gosling, Avril Lavigne, Wayne Gretzky, and Jim Carrey.

I prefer the idea of a lesser name star.

Because our blog has a policy of giving priority to promoting Asian and Aboriginal Canadians, it would be cool if a star from one of these realms appeared as emcee. Because the show is being held in Ottawa this year, it would be fitting, though not necessary, if an Ottawan served as host. It should be someone current (i.e. had a hit in the past couple of years). And, it would be preferable to have a fresh face, someone who hasn’t hosted before. One name who fits all of these comes to mind–Kristina Maria. Being from Vancouver though, I can’t help being a bit biased. I would seriously cry if the honours were given to Elise Estrada.

Who should host the JUNOs? What do you think?