News and Releases Early 2019

Nominations for the 2019 JUNO Awards, the main gala to take place in London on Saint Patrick’s Day, will be announced January 29 at 8 am PT. Already booked to perform is successful duo Loud Luxury. CARAS has made a few announcements surrounding the JUNOs in recent times as below.

Walt Grealis Special Achievement Award Recipient – Duff Roman

Originally from Swift Current, SK, Duff Roman began as a radio DJ for stations in the Prairies before landing a position at Toronto’s top adult rock station CHUM. He worked his way up to program director and station manager. With his brother, he founded Roman Records in the early 60s, and as an artist manager, he produced Little Caesar and The Consuls and the first recordings of Levon and the Hawks, who went on to become The Band. He was also involved in launching the careers of The Paupers and David Clayton-Thomas. In 1982, Roman led the creation of FACTOR, the Foundation to Assist Canadian Talent on Recordings.

Humanitarian Award Recipient – David Foster

Canadian super producer David Foster will be receiving the 2019 Humanitarian Award (formerly named after Allan Waters). The organization writes, “The award honours Foster’s lifelong dedication to philanthropy through his support of hundreds of charities, including his own non-profit organization, The David Foster Foundation, which raises organ donation awareness and provides financial support to Canadian families in need of life-saving transplants.” Over the years, Foster has made hit songs for the likes of Diana Krall, Madonna, Michael Jackson, and Stevie Wonder; launched the careers of Céline Dion, Josh Groban, and Michael Bublé; and created blockbuster soundtracks like The Bodyguard, Urban Cowboy, and St. Elmo’s Fire. David Foster has won six JUNO Awards, 16 Grammy Awards, an Emmy Award, a Golden Globe and has received three Oscar nominations for “Best Original Song.” He has been inducted into the Music Hall of Fame, Walk of Fame, Hollywood Walk of Fame, and both the Canadian and American Songwriters Halls of Fame.

Music Hall of Fame Inductee – Corey Hart

From his career launch in 1983, Montrealer Corey Hart has scored 18 Top 40 hits including his buzz single “Sunglasses at Night” and his 1985 year-end chart topper “Never Surrender”. The album on which the latter song appeared, Boy in the Box, became a diamond seller with a million copies snatched up in Canada alone. Incredibly, Hart only won two JUNO awards despite being nominated for 21. He often lost out to Bryan Adams. The two trophies went to Best Video (“Sunglasses at Night”) and Single of the Year (“Never Surrender”). In the American Republic, Hart landed nine songs in the Top 40; “Never Surrender” peaked at #3. Corey married fellow Canadian recording artist Julie Masse, and in 1999 he decided to take a hiatus from his music career to focus on raising their children. His induction into the Hall of Fame coincides with the release of a new EP and an upcoming cross-Canada tour. Corey Hart has sold an estimated 16 million records worldwide.

New Releases

New discs are beginning to trickle in. Country music JUNO nominees Kira Isabella and Aaron Pritchett have released new EPs. JUNO winning Folk rock group Whitehorse contributes The Northern South Vol. 1. Find these and more in the list below.

Tallies by Tallies, Jan 11, Alternative
The Northern South Vol. 1 by Whitehorse (JW), Jan 18, Folk Rock
Insert Disk 02 by Game Genie Sokolov Jan 18, Electronic
12 jours by Jordane, Jan 18, S-S/Folk
Barokan by Djely Tapa, Jan 18, World
Comme June aime Johnny by Alicia Deschenes, Jan 18, S-S/Folk
Out on the Town (EP) by Aaron Pritchett (JN), Jan 11, Country
Side B (EP) by Kira Isabella (JN), Jan 11, Country
Extravaganza (EP) by Alexandre Desilets, Jan 18, Pop


Sarah Cogan and Tallies Land a Winning Debut

If there was any doubt about 2019 being a great year in music, in addition to Kira Isabella‘s excellent new EP Side B, we have another winner care of a debut album from Toronto band Tallies. The self-titled work presents a blend of Alvvays shoegaze and Mode Moderne new wave. It is however more guitar oriented – Dylan Frankland‘s playing is highly engaging – and at times we can hear some surf rock bubbling up. Unlike many other players of the extended genre, Tallies chooses to keep things upbeat and positive rather than wallow in melancholia. Sarah Cogan‘s vocals are distinctive and rich, reminding us a little of Jonna Lee’s (iamamiwhoami). These prove strong on tracks like “Midnight” and “Not So Proud”. With this solid album, Tallies becomes a welcome addition to Team Canada.  iTunes

Kira Isabella Opens 2019 with an Ace

Canadian Country Music Association award winner and two-time JUNO nominee Kira Isabella has placed four songs on the Billboard Hot 100. The Ottawa native is one of the hottest names in country music and of all the big names is the one to kick off 2019 in music with the release of a brand new EP. Side B is the accompanier of 2018’s Side A and is a winner.

As is common practice with EPs, variety rather than cohesion is the name of the game. An EP allows the artist to try her hands at various styles, something designed to impress, and Kira Isabella impresses here.

Side B opens with hit single territory in the absolutely delicious “We Should be Together”, an instantly likeable number that deserves to top the charts at country radio. Yes, it’s that good! Stronger country flavourings are added to Track 2, “Holiday”, a funky teasing tune that bounces along with an irresistible chorus. Feel your heart melt with the beautiful piano ballad “XGF”; every disc needs one in our opinion. Isabella cranks up the retro vibes in “Soon”, a hazy, lazy afternoon feel good tune. The interesting title “Sleep When We’re Dead” caps off the disc, a slow-burning, sing-along song with the most lucid lyrics of beautiful poetry on the EP.

With Side A, we had already heard some of the tracks which had previously been released as singles. The exciting aspect of Side B is that all songs are new. If 2019 begins with an EP this good, we hope it means a year of the best music we’ve heard in a while.  iTunes